>Happy 4th of July! (AKA: Don’t Laugh at the Cake)

>Many of you don’t know about my birthday cake I made in April. It was sad. Very sad. I am definitely not a cake decorator! (Make that just cake froster in general.) Here it is in all its drippy glory. It WAS delicious however!

I even named this photo “40th b-day cake disaster” or something like that.

Well, I thought I’d just make a 13 x 9″ pan cake with my son and decorate it for 4th of July, to look something like this.

I baked the cake, frosted it during naptime, and cut up all the strawberries and blueberries. I even showed the photo to my son so he could process it internally during naptime and visualize what we were attempting.

It began like this:

Not too bad, right? Then he began throwing strawberries on the cake. Next, he picked up the containers of fruit and dumped them, even while I was pointing and describing what we needed to be doing.  (I interject and make a comment that an author in a book I was looking at recently compared toddlers to cavemen…)

Well, I contemplated moving the fruit to the appropriate sides, but it was all stuck to the frosting. So, we adapted, and Mommy helped to create a reverse USA flag. Please don’t call me unpatriotic. Flexible would be a better word.

How are you spending your 4th of July?

2 Comments

Filed under life

2 responses to “>Happy 4th of July! (AKA: Don’t Laugh at the Cake)

  1. >OMG! LOVE IT!! My mom made one of those many many years ago! They are just soo cute! Atleast Soren tried to help! LOL!

  2. >too cute! It's like looking in the mirror!

Leave a Reply

