>I Did It!

>Okay, it sounds so like Dora the Explorer, but I Did It! I did my Day 4 of the C25K running program yesterday, what seemed like the hardest day yet, and by myself. My running partner is from work, so Saturdays, we have to do it alone. Check this out:

Brisk five-minute warmup walk, then:

  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)
  • Walk 1/4 mile (or 2-1/2 minutes)
  • Jog 1/4 mile (or 3 minutes)
  • Walk 1/8 mile (or 90 seconds)
  • Jog 1/2 mile (or 5 minutes)

Yeah, so I ran 16 minutes yesterday. I’ve NEVER run that much, ever. I could never even run a full 4 laps around the track in middle or high school!

Okay, so I’m proud of myself. That’s okay every once in awhile, right? What I learned were two (actually three) things:
1) It really helps to have an iPod. I can’t hear myself breathing like they are my last breaths.
2) It helps to have a partner, someone you know is doing it too. Makes you not want to cheat.
3) Self talk is amazing. “You can do it. Only 2 more minutes. Look how far you’ve come!”

With no intent to really have this running program take me anywhere, because I just started it to start back into exercise, who knows where it might take me? A friend today said I have to do a 5K when I’m done. Who knows, maybe I should?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

