What I Learned This Week

Another week of learning. I guess that is good when one aspires to be a lifelong learner, right?

So, as I am two weeks away from being a bridesmaid in a wedding (only my second time), here are some things I’ve learned about that:

1. I think I’m spending more time thinking about my nails and accessories for my friend’s wedding than I did my own 8 years ago. (We did a simple, in the park, close friends and family thing.) Though stressful, it is kind of fun to have the excuse too.

2. I’m definitely spending more money dressing for, sleeping in a hotel for, attending parties for this wedding than my own. I even bought special undergarments for two different outfits for this wedding, and I sure didn’t for my own cute dress I wore for my wedding.

3. Preparing a “Here’s everything you need to know for 24-36 hours with our son” list, while we’re gone, will be an adventure.

4. I’m not sure if this will be a learning experience or not, but when a party says, “Wear your little black dress,” will people really be wearing their little black dresses or will they all show up in jeans, a cool shirt, and heels, and I’ll be overdressed?

5. Again, maybe not a learning experience yet, but could use advice, if getting a French mani/pedi done for a wedding, should you do gel wraps for both to protect and pay the extra price? I think what I’ll learn from that is that I’ll have to pay the extra $ to have it removed in the shop. Thoughts anyone?

Be sure to check out Julie’s post this week!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, WILTW

11 responses to “What I Learned This Week

  1. Awesome. I hope the bridesmaid dress isn’t one with a big bow on the backend. I hate big bows on the backend. You do plan to show pictures, right? Not of the undergarments, just the dress. πŸ˜‰

    • Ah-ha-ha! Yeah, no undergarment photos….especially when it has has cups up top! I’ll definitely show some photos. It is actually quite pretty, and full length. We’ll see with my tank top tan how pretty though!

  2. janmary

    I’ve only been a bridesmaid once, it would be fun to do it again – enjoy, and let us know how it goes.

    You should have seen the lists made by my husband when I had to be in hospital for two nights!

  3. Eileen

    I can’t wait to see pictures. Sounds fun. πŸ™‚

  4. At least the bridesmaid dresses are much cuter than they were 20 years ago when I got married!! πŸ™‚ Your wedding sounds simple and sweet. I love weddings like that.
    Wish I could help out with advice on the gel wraps but I haven’t had those before. Last time I had a mani/pedi they did put some kind of special overcoat on the polish that made it last longer. It peeled off weeks later (I guess I needed some special soulution to remove it?) but it definitley lasted a looong time. I loved that part!
    Stopping by from “What I Learned This Week” @ Julie’s blog.

    • Thanks for stopping by Kristi! I too have heard that polish needs special removing. Another visit to the nail salon, right?

      • I actually didn’t go back. It pretty much peeled off….but it was a process. Would have been smarter to go back to salon but time and money kept holding me back! πŸ™‚

  5. I read somewhere (Real Simple magazine, I think) that Sally Hanson has an over the counter product similar to the gel coating you get at salons. It lasts 14 days, I think? and can be taken off with acetone. I think they said that the one at the salon came off with acetone, too… Now, I’m going to go find that article for you πŸ™‚

    • Nice Becca-thanks! And so much less expensive than having to go back again to the salon. Question: Given the importance of a wedding and photos (feet photos too) would you “shellac” your toes too? Just wondering if it is worth the expense. I’d hate to chip one the morning of.

Leave a Reply

